skip navigation

Webster's Washburn named Player of the Year

By WBC staff, 07/17/21, 11:00AM CDT


Webster's Owen Washburn bats during a Division 4 sectional final against Boyceville in Shell Lake.

Webster senior infielder Owen Washburn has been selected as the 2021 Wisconsin Baseball Central Player of the Year.

Washburn put up numbers that would be nearly impossible to achieve even in a video game. The South Carolina commit led the state in several statistical categories. He hit .746 with 13 doubles, four triples, nine home runs and 73 RBIs for one of the top teams in Division 4.

He was nearly impossible to get out at the plate and posted one of the most dominant seasons in the history of Wisconsin high school baseball. He'll take his talents to the SEC next season.

The Player of the Year award goes to the position player who maintained the most consistent level of excellence over the course of the year. Wisconsin continues to produce high-level talent, and the winner is the best of the best. Players of any grade in school are eligible to win the award.

The award was first introduced in 2015. Athens' Shane Coker won that year, Kenosha Indian Trail's Gavin Lux won in 2016, and Prescott's Peter Brookshaw in 2017, Waunakee's Nate Stevens in 2018 and Eau Claire North's Sam Stange in 2019.

Washburn is the third infielder to win Player of the Year in the six-year history of the award, joining Lux and Brookshaw at the position. Coker and Stange won as outfielders, and Stevens was a catcher.

Washburn's older brother, Jack, was the Pitcher of the Year in 2019.

The other finalists for this year's award were Sun Prairie's Josh Caron, Pewaukee's Carson Hansen, DeForest's Mason Kirchberg, Mineral Point's Dominik McVay, Ozaukee's Noah Miller, Menomonee Falls' Luke Nowak, Sun Prairie's Carson Shepard, Muskego's Anthony Tomczak and Bay Port's Theo Zeidler.

More News

2021 All-Wisconsin Teams

By WBC staff 07/22/2021, 8:00am CDT

2021 Player of the Year finalists announced

By WBC staff 07/16/2021, 12:45pm CDT

St. Croix Falls' Lessman named Pitcher of the Year

By WBC staff 07/14/2021, 3:45pm CDT

2021 Pitcher of the Year finalists announced

By WBC staff 07/13/2021, 8:45am CDT

2021 Legion Rankings: First Edition

By WBC staff 07/12/2021, 10:30am CDT

Jefferson's Butina named Newcomer of the Year

By WBC staff 07/09/2021, 9:00am CDT

2021 Newcomer of the Year finalists announced

By WBC staff 07/08/2021, 10:30am CDT

Sun Prairie adds to championship haul

By WBC staff 07/01/2021, 10:15pm CDT

Denmark wins first state title

By WBC staff 06/30/2021, 9:30pm CDT

Kenosha St. Joseph wins D3 state title

By WBC staff 06/29/2021, 11:00pm CDT