skip navigation

2021 Player of the Year finalists announced

By WBC staff, 07/16/21, 12:45PM CDT


Sun Prairie's Josh Caron reacts after hitting a triple in the Division 1 state championship game on July 1 in Grand Chute.

The Wisconsin Baseball Central Player of the Year award goes to the position player who maintained the most consistent level of excellence over the course of the year. Wisconsin continues to produce high-level talent, and the winner is the best of the best. Players of any grade are eligible to win the award.

The award was first introduced in 2015. Athens' Shane Coker won the inaugural award, Kenosha Indian Trail's Gavin Lux won in 2016, Prescott's Peter Brookshaw in 2017, Waunakee's Nate Stevens in 2018 and Eau Claire North's Sam Stange in 2019.

These are the 10 finalists for 2021 Player of the Year, listed in alphabetical order by last name.

Josh Caron, Sun Prairie senior catcher

Caron was an unstoppable force for the Division 1 state champion. The Nebraska commit carried a thunderous bat, hitting .429 with 10 doubles, one triple, eight home runs and 52 RBIs. He was a big reason why Sun Prairie won a state title.

Carson Hansen, Pewaukee junior outfielder

Hansen made a living in the gaps for the Pirates, collecting extra-base hit after extra-base hit this spring. The junior batted .520 with 17 doubles, five triples, two homers and 46 RBIs for a state tournament team. He also stole 23 bases.

Mason Kirchberg, DeForest senior infielder

Kirchberg had a breakout year for a strong Norskies team, serving as the top bat in a deep lineup. The UW-Oshkosh recruit hit .506 and bashed nine home runs. He drove in 40 runs.

Dominik McVay, Mineral Point junior outfielder

McVay did it all for one of the top teams in Division 3, bringing power and speed to the Pointers' lineup. The junior posted a .532 batting average with eight home runs and 28 RBIs. He scored 55 runs and stole 20 bases.

Noah Miller, Ozaukee senior infielder

Miller was the state's top pro prospect this spring and the Minnesota Twins took notice, drafting him with the 36th pick in the MLB draft last week. In his final year as a high school player, Miller hit .636 with seven doubles, four triples, five home runs and 20 RBIs.

Luke Nowak, Menomonee Falls senior outfielder

Nowak set the table for a Phoenix team which reached the Division 1 state semifinals. The East Carolina recruit hit .410 with 11 doubles, six triples, a homer and 19 RBIs. He got on base constantly from the top of the lineup.

Carson Shepard, Sun Prairie senior infielder

Shepard was arguably the top leadoff hitter in the state, getting on base at an absurd rate for the Division 1 champions. The future Ohio Bobcat hit .506 with 12 doubles and 24 RBIs, and was a run-scoring machine.

Anthony Tomczak, Muskego senior catcher

Tomczak had a record-setting season for the Classic Eight Conference champions. His .594 batting average was the best in program history. The UW-Stevens Point commit hit 14 doubles, three triples, two home runs and drove in 37 runs.

Owen Washburn, Webster senior infielder

Washburn put up numbers that would be nearly impossible to achieve even in a video game. The South Carolina commit led the state in several statistical categories. He hit .746 with 13 doubles, four triples, nine home runs and 73 RBIs for one of the top teams in Division 4.

Theo Zeidler, Bay Port junior infielder

Zeidler starred as both a pitcher and hitter for the Division 1 state runner-up. At the plate, the Bradley commit put up impressive numbers. He hit .434 to go along with 12 doubles, one triple, three home runs and 35 RBIs.

More News

2021 All-Wisconsin Teams

By WBC staff 07/22/2021, 8:00am CDT

Webster's Washburn named Player of the Year

By WBC staff 07/17/2021, 11:00am CDT

St. Croix Falls' Lessman named Pitcher of the Year

By WBC staff 07/14/2021, 3:45pm CDT

2021 Pitcher of the Year finalists announced

By WBC staff 07/13/2021, 8:45am CDT

2021 Legion Rankings: First Edition

By WBC staff 07/12/2021, 10:30am CDT

Jefferson's Butina named Newcomer of the Year

By WBC staff 07/09/2021, 9:00am CDT

2021 Newcomer of the Year finalists announced

By WBC staff 07/08/2021, 10:30am CDT

Sun Prairie adds to championship haul

By WBC staff 07/01/2021, 10:15pm CDT

Denmark wins first state title

By WBC staff 06/30/2021, 9:30pm CDT

Kenosha St. Joseph wins D3 state title

By WBC staff 06/29/2021, 11:00pm CDT