skip navigation

Denmark wins first state title

By WBC staff, 06/30/21, 9:30PM CDT


Denmark celebrates with the Division 2 state championship trophy on Wednesday at Fox Cities Stadium.

GRAND CHUTE — After heartbreaking losses in the program's first two trips to a state championship game, Denmark finally tasted gold on Wednesday.

The Vikings defeated Jefferson 4-1 at Fox Cities Stadium to claim the Division 2 state title, the first in Denmark history.

The Vikings lost in walk-off fashion in state title games in both 2002 and 2005. This year's group made sure it wouldn't happen again.

Kenny Satori's RBI single broke a 1-1 tie in the bottom of the fourth inning and gave Denmark the lead for good. The Vikings pushed three runs across in that inning after Satori scored on a wild pitch and Hayden Konkol hit an RBI single.

That was enough run support for Brennen Miller, who worked six strong innings to keep the Eagles quiet. He held a well-hitting Jefferson team to five hits and one run, striking out seven.

Logan Paplham hit a sac fly in the second inning to give the Vikings an initial 1-0 lead before Tanner Pinnow's RBI single in the fourth tied it for Jefferson.

The Eagles' best chance to strike back came in the sixth when they brought the tying run to the plate with two outs. But Miller induced a ground ball to end the threat.

Konkol and Abe Kapinos had two hits each for Denmark.

The Vikings finished the season 31-1.

More News

2021 All-Wisconsin Teams

By WBC staff 07/22/2021, 8:00am CDT

Webster's Washburn named Player of the Year

By WBC staff 07/17/2021, 11:00am CDT

2021 Player of the Year finalists announced

By WBC staff 07/16/2021, 12:45pm CDT

St. Croix Falls' Lessman named Pitcher of the Year

By WBC staff 07/14/2021, 3:45pm CDT

2021 Pitcher of the Year finalists announced

By WBC staff 07/13/2021, 8:45am CDT

2021 Legion Rankings: First Edition

By WBC staff 07/12/2021, 10:30am CDT

Jefferson's Butina named Newcomer of the Year

By WBC staff 07/09/2021, 9:00am CDT

2021 Newcomer of the Year finalists announced

By WBC staff 07/08/2021, 10:30am CDT

Sun Prairie adds to championship haul

By WBC staff 07/01/2021, 10:15pm CDT

Kenosha St. Joseph wins D3 state title

By WBC staff 06/29/2021, 11:00pm CDT