skip navigation

Kenosha St. Joseph wins D3 state title

By WBC staff, 06/29/21, 11:00PM CDT


Kenosha St. Joseph celebrates with the Division 3 state championship trophy on Tuesday at Fox Cities Stadium.

GRAND CHUTE — Twelve years after last reaching the summit, Kenosha St. Joseph is back on top.

The Lancers captured the fourth state championship in program history on Tuesday, defeating Coleman 7-4 in the Division 3 title game at Fox Cities Stadium.

The mighty offense that carried the team all season shined in the spotlight, scoring five runs across the first two innings to give the second-seeded Lancers (25-1) a lead they wouldn't relinquish. A sacrifice fly by Andrew Setter put St. Joseph ahead in the first, and Jacob Ashmus and Luke Schuler followed with RBI singles to push the lead to four after one frame.

Jack Davidson's sac fly in the second extended the lead to 5-0.

Coleman rallied with three runs in the third, highlighted by an RBI single from Zach Zablocki. But timely hitting would be tough to come by the rest of the way thanks to the pitching of Schuler and Max McCarville.

Schuler pitched five innings and allowed two earned runs to earn the victory. He struck out three. McCarville got a save by throwing the final two frames.

It was the first state championship since 2009 for St. Joseph. The Lancers also won titles in 2005 and 2006.

Coleman finished the season 25-3. The Cougars were making their fourth appearance at state and first since winning a Division 4 championship in 2012.

More News

2021 All-Wisconsin Teams

By WBC staff 07/22/2021, 8:00am CDT

Webster's Washburn named Player of the Year

By WBC staff 07/17/2021, 11:00am CDT

2021 Player of the Year finalists announced

By WBC staff 07/16/2021, 12:45pm CDT

St. Croix Falls' Lessman named Pitcher of the Year

By WBC staff 07/14/2021, 3:45pm CDT

2021 Pitcher of the Year finalists announced

By WBC staff 07/13/2021, 8:45am CDT

2021 Legion Rankings: First Edition

By WBC staff 07/12/2021, 10:30am CDT

Jefferson's Butina named Newcomer of the Year

By WBC staff 07/09/2021, 9:00am CDT

2021 Newcomer of the Year finalists announced

By WBC staff 07/08/2021, 10:30am CDT

Sun Prairie adds to championship haul

By WBC staff 07/01/2021, 10:15pm CDT

Denmark wins first state title

By WBC staff 06/30/2021, 9:30pm CDT