skip navigation

2019 Player of the Year finalists

By WBC staff, 07/01/19, 2:00PM CDT


Sun Prairie's Spencer Bartel takes a swing during the Division 1 state quarterfinals on June 11 in Grand Chute.

The Wisconsin Baseball Central Player of the Year award goes to the position player who maintained the most consistent level of excellence over the course of the year. Wisconsin continues to produce high-level talent, and the winner is the best of the best. Players of any grade are eligible to win the award.

The award was first introduced in 2015. Athens' Shane Coker won the inaugural award, Kenosha Indian Trail's Gavin Lux won in 2016, Prescott's Peter Brookshaw in 2017 and Waunakee's Nate Stevens in 2018.

These are the 10 finalists for 2019 Player of the Year, listed in alphabetical order by last name. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, July 2.

Spencer Bartel, Sun Prairie junior

Bartel was one of the driving forces behind Sun Prairie's surge to the Division 1 state championship game. The outfielder hit .474 with eight doubles, 10 triples, one homer and 26 RBIs. He was among the biggest threats in the state to hit a three-bagger.

Jack Bau, New Richmond senior

Bau was among the most productive players in the state during his senior campaign. The infielder posted a .529 batting average, hitting 10 doubles, five triples and four home runs along the way. He drove in 38 runs and stole 14 bases for the Tigers and helped his team win a Division 2 regional title.

Marcus Cline, Fall Creek senior

Cline put up video game numbers on his way to helping the Crickets win a conference title. The UW-Milwaukee commit hit .534 with 11 doubles, eight triples, two home runs, 41 RBIs and 20 stolen bases. The infielder was also among the team's top pitchers.

Tanner Peterson, Wilmot senior

Peterson swung one of the state's most powerful bats this spring. The Illinois State commit crushed seven home runs to go along with eight doubles and three triples. The outfielder hit .468, drove in 35 runs and stole 11 bases.

Sam Stange, Eau Claire North senior

Stange was the undisputed best player for the Division 1 state champions, hitting .533 with 12 doubles, seven triples, seven home runs and 41 RBIs. He hit the clutch three-run, go-ahead homer late in the state title game to give the Huskies their first championship since 2011.

Nate Stevens, Waunakee senior

Stevens has a chance to repeat as Player of the Year after a stellar senior season. Last year's winner hit .419 with six doubles, one triple and nine home runs this spring. He drove in 31 runs for the Warriors, and will play college baseball at Arkansas.

Liam Stumpf, Mineral Point sophomore

Stumpf was the state leader in home runs for the Division 4 runner-up Pointers. The sophomore sensation blasted 12 homers on the year to complement a .489 batting average. He also hit 11 doubles and three triples, and drove in 47 RBIs. He has attracted interest from NCAA Division I programs already.

Tyler Tetzke, Appleton West junior

Tetzke was a force to be reckoned with in the Fox Valley Association. The infielder hit .489 with 11 doubles and four home runs for the Terrors. He drove in 28 runs and was a unanimous first team all-conference honoree.

Max Wagner, Green Bay Preble junior

Wagner was also a finalist for the Pitcher of the Year award, making him one of the top two-way players in the state. At the plate, he led the Hornets with a .500 average, eight doubles, three triples, five homers and 39 RBIs. The infielder is committed to play at Clemson.

Jack Washburn, Webster senior

Washburn is this season's Pitcher of the Year and has a chance to take home Player of the Year honors as well. The senior hit .505 with eight doubles, five triples, six home runs and 46 RBIs for the Division 4 state champions. He'll play at Oregon State next year.

More News

2019 All-Wisconsin Teams

By WBC staff 07/09/2019, 3:00pm CDT

Legion baseball midseason rankings

By WBC staff 07/03/2019, 2:15pm CDT

Eau Claire North's Stange named Player of the Year

By WBC staff 07/02/2019, 1:00pm CDT

Webster's Washburn named Pitcher of the Year

By WBC staff 06/27/2019, 3:00pm CDT

2019 Pitcher of the Year finalists

By WBC staff 06/26/2019, 6:00pm CDT

Eau Claire North's Richardson named Newcomer of the Year

By WBC staff 06/23/2019, 6:30pm CDT

2019 Newcomer of the Year finalists

By WBC staff 06/22/2019, 7:00pm CDT

2019 All-State Tournament Team

By WBC staff 06/14/2019, 8:30pm CDT

Antigo captures first state championship

By WBC staff 06/13/2019, 6:15pm CDT