skip navigation

2019 Pitcher of the Year finalists

By WBC staff, 06/26/19, 6:00PM CDT


Green Bay Preble's Max Wagner pitches against Burlington in the Division 1 state quarterfinals on June 11 at Fox Cities Stadium in Grand Chute.

The Wisconsin Baseball Central Pitcher of the Year award goes to the pitcher who maintained the most consistent level of excellence over the course of the year. Players of any grade are eligible to win the award.

This year's group of 10 finalists is outstanding, representing the best arms to take the diamond in Wisconsin this spring. These 10 pitchers dominated like no others.

The Pitcher of the Year award was first introduced in 2016. Arrowhead's Ryan Schmitt won the inaugural award, Kenosha Indian Trail's Ryan Hoerter won in 2017, and Tomah's Connor Prielipp won last year.

Here are the 10 finalists for this year's award, listed alphabetically by last name. The winner will be announced on Thursday, June 27.

Nick Carpenter, Lake Mills senior

Carpenter set the tone for the Capitol North Conference champion L-Cats with standout performance after standout performance. The southpaw went 9-1 with a 1.02 ERA on the year, and surpassed the triple-digit strikeout benchmark. He fanned 102 batters in 66 innings of work and earned conference player of the year honors. He'll play at UW-Stevens Point next year.

Ben Hampton, West De Pere junior

Hampton was about as unhittable as anybody in the state this year: He was part of three no-hitters. The West Virginia commit went 9-1 with a 1.08 ERA, striking out 104 batters in 58 innings to help lead the Phantoms to the state tournament.

Trey Krause, Burlington senior

Krause was expected to be one of the state's top pitchers this year, and he delivered in his senior season. The lefty posted a 7-0 record with a sterling 0.48 ERA. He punched out 105 hitters in just 58.1 innings — good for an average of almost two strikeouts per inning. He's a finalist for Pitcher of the Year for a second season in a row. He'll pitch at Illinois State next year.

Connor Prielipp, Tomah senior

Prielipp won this award last year, and he's one of the favorites to do it again this season. The southpaw strikes out batters like no other. He fanned an incredible 165 hitters in 72 innings of work this year. It was good for a 9-2 record and 0.68 ERA. It's not hard to see why the Alabama recruit was selected in the late rounds of this year's MLB draft.

Hunter Rosenbaum, Webster senior

Rosenbaum is one of two Webster players to be named a finalist for this award this season. The right-hander was simply dominant this spring, finishing with an 11-0 record to go with a minuscule 0.13 ERA. The West Virginia recruit struck out 97 hitters in 55.1 innings and helped the Tigers win the Division 4 state title.

Shane Ryan, Markesan senior

Ryan made some history this June, becoming just the fifth pitcher to ever throw a no-hitter in a Division 3 state tournament game. He held Ozaukee hitless in this year's D3 semifinals. It capped a remarkable year on the mound in which he went 12-0 with a 0.42 ERA, punching out 113 hitters in 66.1 innings on the hill. He'll play at Central Michigan next year.

Hunter Vikemyr, Viroqua senior

Vikemyr was unbeatable for the Blackhawks this season, finishing with an 8-0 record and sporting an impressive 0.64 ERA. The righty was one of the top strikeout pitchers in the state, fanning 124 hitters in 64.2 innings of work.

Max Wagner, Green Bay Preble junior

Wagner had a standout year on the mound to help the Hornets return to the state tournament for the fourth year in a row. The Clemson commit went 8-2 with a 0.68 ERA. He mowed down 80 batters via the strikeout in 61 innings pitched.

Jack Washburn, Webster senior

Washburn capped his high school career in style,  earning the win in the Division 4 state championship game over Mineral Point. It was the exclamation point on a season in which he went 12-0 with a dazzling 0.22 ERA. Hitters stood little chance when he was on the mound, striking out 123 times. The Oregon State commit was part of five no-hitters this spring. He's a finalist for this award for the second year in a row.

Mitchell Woelfle, Janesville Craig senior

Woelfle came every bit as advertised in his senior season, earning first team All-Big Eight Conference honors for the third straight year. The Air Force commit pitched to a 10-1 record and a 1.00 ERA. His only loss came in a 1-0 game as the result of an unearned run. He struck out 65 hitters in 63 innings of work.

More News

2019 All-Wisconsin Teams

By WBC staff 07/09/2019, 3:00pm CDT

Legion baseball midseason rankings

By WBC staff 07/03/2019, 2:15pm CDT

Eau Claire North's Stange named Player of the Year

By WBC staff 07/02/2019, 1:00pm CDT

2019 Player of the Year finalists

By WBC staff 07/01/2019, 2:00pm CDT

Webster's Washburn named Pitcher of the Year

By WBC staff 06/27/2019, 3:00pm CDT

Eau Claire North's Richardson named Newcomer of the Year

By WBC staff 06/23/2019, 6:30pm CDT

2019 Newcomer of the Year finalists

By WBC staff 06/22/2019, 7:00pm CDT

2019 All-State Tournament Team

By WBC staff 06/14/2019, 8:30pm CDT

Antigo captures first state championship

By WBC staff 06/13/2019, 6:15pm CDT